Bill Frisell - All We Are Saying CD

$ 17.00

1. Across The Universe 5:53
2. Revolution 3:50
3. Nowhere Man 5:14
4. Imagine 4:52
5. Please, Please Me 2:06
6. You've Got To Hide Your Love Away 5:08
7. Hold On 3:56
8. In My Life 4:05
9. Come Together 5:08
10. Julia 3:31
11. Woman 4:21
12. Number 9 Dream 3:42
13. Love 2:18
14. Beautiful Boy 3:27
15. Mother 6:53
16. Give Peace A Chance
Bill Frisell - guitar
Jenny Scheinman - violin
Tony Scherr - bass
Greg Leisz - guitars
Kenny Wollesen - drums

Produced by Lee Townsend

* Tribute to the music of John Lennon

All songs by John Lennon except: Across the Universe, Revolution, Nowhere Man, Please Please Me, You've Got to Hide Your Love Away, Come Together and Julia - written by Lennon and Paul McCartney.


Mr. Frisell's album represents a labor of love .... an unmistakable sound, an identifiable style .... a great deal of sensitivity and artful restraint .... this music makes up a substantial part of his DNA.... The album's superior stretch takes up what would be Side B of the LP with a beautifully lilting "Julia" and a starkly tender "Woman" ... Some of the band's most soulful playing comes on "Beautiful Boy" ... And things get powerfully ethereal on the closing track, "Give Peace a Chance," which gave the album its title phrase and, one suspects, its implicit agenda. - Nate Chinen, New York Times
Frisell really gets John Lennon â€¹ the heartbreaking tenderness and pain of the family songs, Lennon's universalist stretch, the yearning for a better world, and the tough, angry rocker who snarled "Revolution" and funkily demanded everyone "Come Together". Frisell and band render their material not through jazz improv but with warm and loosely intertwining string textures that swarm and tumble, moving deftly through jangly joy, inky fear and slowcore declamation. What a legacy Lennon left us. How lucky we are to have Frisell to tell us about it. - Paul DeBarros, Seattle Times

©2011 by Savoy Jazz