Patricia Barber - Higher CD (AUTOGRAPHED)

$ 35.00


Angels, the Birds, and I...

1. Muse
2. Surrender
3. Pallid Angel
4. The Opera Song
5. High Summer Season
6. The Albatross Song
7. Voyager
8. Higher
9. Early Autumn
10. In Your Own Sweet Way
11. Secret Love
12. The Opera Song with Katherine Werbiansky

Recorded and mixed by long-time collaborator Jim Anderson, this spectacular set contains a unique eight jazz-interpreted art-song cycle that explore the mysteries that bind and illuminate us.

"Throughout my career as a singer, pianist, and songwriter, I've been pushing the boundaries of songwriting," Barber says. "I've recently been drawn to writing songs that combine lyrical poetry with a rich harmonic language, pulling from classical music as well as the circumscribed system of harmony in jazz and classic American song. Shulamit Ran, composer, friend, and mentor, has been instrumental in teaching me how to access a limitless harmonic vista. This album features 'Angels, Birds, and I...,' a new song cycle that portrays this musical adventure, pushing the frontiers of my songwriting all the way into art song. I'm happy to say that classical singers as well as jazz singers are performing these songs."

"I feel very much that this album is a manifestation of my hard-won harmonic evolution." Barber continues her blending of classical and modern idioms, both musical and lyrical, into a hybrid that plays to the best of both: classically-oriented with room to improvise and expand.